So you have a few clients which aren't clients any more, and various collections which are "finished". You want to keep all the data for future reference – but you don't want to see these clients and collections in your normal day to day work.
The solution is to archive them. Here's how.
To archive a client: go to its Sparkle page, follow the Edit link, and tick the Archived? box.
Now if you look at the main Clients page, you'll see the client isn't a Current client – it's in the Archive section.
Archived clients won't show up on the Check Out page where you browse for samples by client, brand and collection.
To archive a collection: go to its client's page, look at the Brands & Collections tab, follow the collection's Edit link, and tick the Archived? box.
Now if you look at the client's page again, you'll see the collection isn't on the Brands & Collections tab; it's on the Archive tab instead.
Archived collections won't show up on the Check Out page where you browse for samples by client, brand and collection.
Samples in a collection
You can also filter the samples in a collection. On any collection's Manage Samples page you'll see the sample counts on the right. E.g. "98 samples (24 in, 57 out, 2 lost, 3 gifted, 12 returned to client)".
You can click each number to show or hide those particular samples. So to hide all the samples which have been lost, gifted, or returned to the client, click the "2 lost", "3 gifted", and "12 returned to client". You'll be left with only the samples which are in and out.
This helps narrow down what you see to only the samples you want.
How do I unarchive something?
What happens if you archive a client or collection by mistake? No problem: just untick the Archived? box.
Nothing is deleted when you Archive a client or collection. When you un-archive it, Sparkle just moves it back where you'll see it every day.
Several Sparkle customers suggested that archiving would help. Thanks for the great idea!